Sense of Place:

The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club

Pull up a chair and let the true story of the Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club tickle your taste buds…

The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club tells the true story of five extraordinary women who meet in the hills above Italy’s Orvieto to cook, eat and tell the stories of their incredible lives.

Umbrian supper club

Every week on a Thursday evening, a group of four Italian rural women gather in a derelict stone house in the hills above Italy’s Orvieto. There – along with their friend, Marlena – they cook together, sit down to a beautiful supper, drink their beloved local wines, and talk.

Here, surrounded by candle light, good food and friendship, Miranda, Ninucia, Paolina and Gilda tell their life stories of loves lost and found, of ageing and abandonment, of mafia grudges and family feuds, and of cherished ingredients and recipes whose secrets have been passed down through the generations. Around this table, these five friends share their food and all that life has offered them – the good and the bad.

This book is perfect for fans of all things Italian, and the thousands of readers who loved Deborah Rodriquez’s The Kabul Beauty School; Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love and Deborah Moggach’s Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

Click here to read an extract.

The Umbrian Thursday Night Supper Club is available in hardback and ebook. Click here to buy.

More sense of place articles

Sign up to our monthly newsletter

Meet Windmill Books

Windmill is the online home of literary publishers Windmill Books, William Heinemann and Hutchinson. Part of Penguin Random House UK.